Manaki Brothers - International Cinematographers’ Film Festival

MEDIA Desk MK started the series of gatherings titled Close Ups

September 24, Bitola – The MEDIA desk of Macedonia held the 1st Close-Up Gathering in Honor of International Cinematographers at the 39th ICFF Manaki Brothers. The gathering was attended by a large number of domestic and international cinematographers, producers, directors, as well as this year’s Golden Camera 300 laureate Roger Deakins and the Special Golden Camera 300 laureate Claudia Cardinale. At this 1st Close-Up Gathering, a representative of the Delegation of the European Union in Skopje, Freek Janmaat, had his addressing, congratulating this initiative of the MEDIA desk of Macedonia, which is up to set the start of a series of so called Close-Up gatherings. These gathering will be held during the whole year with the goal of bringing together various audio-visual sector professionals, exchanging experience and solutions to exact problems. Every Close-Up will be devoted to a different theme and will host actual domestic and foreign professionals from the separate areas in the sector supported by MEDIA. Of course, the base of these gatherings will be the support of the Creative Europe MEDIA program and the MEDIA desk of Macedonia will always stimulate the Macedonian applicants to come to financial means for easier realization of their ideas and the projects they have come up with.

This year’s festival edition will see the screening of 7 films supported by the Creative Europe MEDIA program, 3 of which are in the official selection. Amongst the 7 films is the documentary In Praise of Nothing by the Serbian director Boris Mitikj, who comes to the festival with the support of the MEDIA desk of Macedonia to hold a workshop with the students on September 25 at 1PM (Center for Culture in Bitola, Small Hall). The film In Praise of Nothing got financial support of EUR50.000 from the TV Programs call by MEDIA, which is open for independent European production companies whose business plan includes collaboration with at least three TV companies from multiple member-countries of the MEDIA subprogram.